So Much Is Burning
Poetry & photographs by William Taylor Jr.
5" x 8" trade paperback. 48 pages. ISBN 0-9769857-2-1
Printed on Mohawk 50/10 Ultra 32 lb. paper.
Set in RTF Dokument.  $10

Also available from:, Bird & Beckett,
Logos Books & Records and City Lights

Reviews and press:

The Poetry Kit Awards 2006: Shortlisted for "Favourite Poet."

Charles P. Ries: "The eyes of a poet often find beauty in rubble, and hope in a sea of sadness. So Much Is Burning by William Taylor Jr. is a study of poetic transcendence, an examination undertaken by a writer well suited to seeing common miracles. Taylor’s work conveys longing as well any poet writing today. ... So Much Is Burning demonstrates why Taylor has attracted such a devoted following in the small press. ... This collection is grounded in place and set on the humble stage known as the Tenderloin district of San Francisco."
(Also published in Small Press Review, ULA Book Review, FireWeed, and others.)

Doug Holder: "In this new collection Taylor writes of his hometown of San Francisco and in the tradition of Winans and Bukowski he covers the “waterfront,” with all its downtrodden denizens and their gone-to-seed milieu. The production of the book is quite winning. ... Taylor has an engaging, dreamy aspect to his work. It is infused with a sweet melancholy. He is obviously influenced by the 'Buk,' and Winans, but still has his own unique style."

Christopher Cunningham: "I rec'd my copy of Bill Taylor Jr.'s new book So Much Is Burning, and it is a fantastic read. the poems are stark and honest, teeming with the realities of life, good and bad. the production on the book by sunnyoutside is very nice indeed, crisp black and white with the poems and photographs working together throughout. great stuff...."

From the back cover:
So Much Is Burning introduces readers to the inner city of San Francisco, immersing them in the infamous Tenderloin neighborhood. Poignantly observing the beauty and despair that pervade the daily lives of its inhabitants, Taylor’s poetry delves into the elements that give the bars and streets lives of their own. What results are empathetic illustrations
of the human condition that possess a strong sense of place and celebrate the spectrum of emotions that comprise our existence, all tied together by photographs that complement the poetry’s stark imagery.

Author profile:
William Taylor Jr. was born in Bakersfield, California and currently lives in San Francisco with his wife and a cat named Trouble. His poetry and stories have appeared widely in the small press and on the internet. He is the author of numerous chapbooks and his work has been nominated for a Pushcart Prize.